There are several ways to delete Dropbox accounts depending on what type of account you have, for example, Business accounts have to go through an entirely different process to the one that Basic and Pro accounts have to go through in order to terminate their subscriptions.
If you’re a Dropbox Pro subscriber you will first have to cancel your subscription if you really want to close your account. If you’ve already canceled your subscription, or if you have a Dropbox Basic account, then you can follow the steps below to learn how to access the account deletion tool to complete the cancellation process.
How to Delete Your Dropbox Account
- Go to https://www.dropbox.com/account/delete
- Login to your account with your email address and password.
- Confirm that you want to cancel your account.
How to Delete a Dropbox for Business Account
If you’re a team member and you want to delete a Dropbox for Business account, you will have to contact your Dropbox for Business team administrator to request the cancellation of your account.
If you’re a Dropbox for Business team admin, and you want to delete your entire team account or downgrade, then you will have to contact customer service using the information on your Business account page and they’ll take care of the whole process for you.
Keep in mind that when you delete your Dropbox account permanently any computers or mobile devices that have been linked with Dropbox will stop syncing, you won’t be able to access your account on the Dropbox website anymore, and you won’t be able to edit files stored in share folders.
The process of permanently deleting your account and file data can take up to 60 days, so just be patient while you wait until the job gets done.