Maybe you’re here because you got tired of Pinterest and you really want to find out how to permanently delete your account. If that’s the case, you’ve come to the right place, because here you’ll learn how to close your account forever. We will also show you how to temporarily deactivate your account in case you’re not sure about leaving the photo sharing site for good, that way you’ll be able to reactivate your account whenever you feel the need to get back into it in order to start browsing endless collections of Pins and Boards.
What’s the difference between permanently closing an account and deactivating it? Well, if you only deactivate your account, you will be able to reactivate it whenever you want by simply logging in to Pinterest.com with the same email address and password that you’ve always used to access the site.
To temporarily deactivate your account go and log in to your Pinterest account, then go to the account settings page by clicking on the link below (or by copying and pasting the URL in your web browser), click on the “Deactivate Account” button located right above the “Save Settings” button that you’ll see at the bottom of the account basics area, tell them why you want to deactivate your account, and then choose Confirm to let them know that you really want to deactivate your account.
Don’t forget that you can easily and quickly reactivate your account by simply logging in to the site again.
Now, if what you really want is to permanently close your account, then follow these steps:
How to Delete Your Pinterest Account Permanently
- Login to Pinterest and navigate to https://www.pinterest.com/settings/.
- Scroll a little bit down the page and click on “Deactivate Account”.
- Then select “Permanently Close My Account” from the list of options.
- Confirm that you really want to permanently close your account by clicking on the confirmation button.
- Now go to your email account and click on “Yes, Close Account” in the confirmation email to let them know that it’s really you who’s trying to cancel the account forever.
That’s it! Keep in mind that once you’ve deleted your Pinterest account permanently, you won’t be able to reactivate it, which means that you won’t be able to get your Pins and Boards back.
However, according to Pinterest’s help center, it will take 14 days for the account cancellation process to be completed, so if you change your mind before the time is up, you can restore access to your account by logging in with your email address and password. Pinterest will then shoot you an email with a reactivation link that you must click on in order to complete the account reactivation process.