How to Delete Your Instagram Account
- Go to instagram.com and log in to your account using a desktop or laptop computer. (Note: You cannot delete your account through the app using a mobile phone or tablet)
- Now click on your username at the top.
- Click “edit profile”.
- Click on the “I’d like to delete my account” link located at the bottom right corner.
- Confirm that you really want to close your account and you’re done.
Use The Direct Deletion Link Method
There’s another way to cancel your account permanently, however, if you go down this route you will lose all your information including albums, comments, and friends. Simply log in and delete your account using the following link: https://instagram.com/accounts/remove/request/.
Please keep in mind that after cancelling your account you won’t be able to get it back or reactivate it ever again. You can create a new account for free if you want, but you will have to use a different name and email address for this purpose. If you don’t want to lose your information and posts, then you could consider blocking your account instead of deleting it, and you can allow only a select group of people to see your posts and interact with you.
Also, don’t forget to remove third-party logins to close your account successfully, for example, if you signed up for Instagram with Facebook, Google Plus, Yahoo!, Twitter, LinkedIn, or MSN you might want to revoke access to the service in order to disconnect Instagram from your other social media accounts.